Magnet Committee Message

The Magnet Recognition Program has been managed by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) throughout the United States and the world. El Camino Hospital has a long history of Magnet Recognition, dating back to 1991, as one of the original 41 Magnet Hospitals, designated after a nationwide study. We renewed our commitment to the Magnet Journey in the early 2000s, and in 2005 became the first Bay Area Magnet Hospital. We received our second designation in 2010 and our third designation in June 2015. As we look toward 2019, and our bid for our fourth designation, we would like take a moment and express gratitude for the hard work, care and compassion of the El Camino Hospital nurses. You all enable us to showcase the incredible accomplishments of over 1,500 RNs.

The Magnet Model consists of Five Model Elements, which provide a framework for practice. Within this report, you will find nursing highlights for each Model Element:

  • Transformational Leadership
  • Structural Empowerment
  • Exemplary Professional Practice
  • New Knowledge, Innovation & Improvements
  • Empirical Outcomes

The Magnet Committee is proud to honor our nurses and the excellence they have achieved. This excellence was reflected in our Magnet Documentation and Site Visit, and is also reflected in this Nursing Annual Report of our 2017 achievements. Please enjoy exploring this site and join us in celebrating nursing at El Camino Hospital!

~ Magnet Committee

Magnet Committee
Jennifer Borelli, RN
Jody Charles, RN
Pamela Fiehmann, RN
Bonnie Gebhart, RN
Sherrie Karleskind, RN
Jackie Keane, RN
Athena Lendvay, RN
Vivian Low, RN
Kelsey Martinez, MPA
Audrey Prairo, RN
Cheryl Reinking, RN
Chris Tarver, RN
Catherine Walke, RN