Share this page:
El Camino Hospital Media Releases

El Camino Hospital Board of Directors Votes in New Board Officers

Mountain View, CA - May 10, 2013 - El Camino Hospital today announced that during its monthly Board meeting this past Wednesday, the Board voted in its new officers effective July 1, 2013, for a two-year term. Neal Cohen, MD, will serve as chairman of the Board replacing current chairman John Zoglin; Nandini Tandon, PhD, will serve as vice chair replacing Patricia Einarson, MD; and Dr. Einarson will serve as secretary/treasurer replacing Dave Reeder.

"Drs. Cohen, Tandon and Einarson are exemplary and proven leaders who can bring even broader industry experiences and best practices to help us navigate the continuously changing health care environment," said Tomi Ryba, president and CEO of El Camino Hospital, and member of the Board of Directors. "I also want to thank John for his years of service as Board Chairman. His vision and leadership have enabled our board to adopt greater transparency with all of our key constituencies and a new governance model that has given us expanded expertise to meet our organization’s growing needs. We look forward to his continued service and leadership as a member of the Board of Directors."

The Hospital Board of Directors was recently expanded from six to nine members as a way to apply governance best practices and to create more depth of subject matter expertise in the areas of finance, quality and policy. Dr. Cohen, Dr. Tandon and Jeffrey Davis, MD, were recently appointed to the Board as part of that expansion. Dr. Einarson has served on the Board since 2010. The remaining board members include: John Zoglin, Dennis Chiu, Julia Miller, Dave Reeder and Tomi Ryba.

"I am honored to be serving the El Camino Hospital in this capacity for the next two years," said Dr. Cohen. "El Camino Hospital is a forward-thinking, innovative organization that is committed to its community and I look forward to working with my fellow Board and committee members to continuing that excellence for decades to come."

Board Officer Bios

Neal Cohen, MD, MPH, MS
Dr. Cohen is a professor of anesthesia and perioperative care and medicine at the UCSF School of Medicine, where he spent 19 years as director of Critical Care Medicine at UCSF Medical Center. He serves as vice dean for academic affairs, where he is responsible for risk management, regulatory affairs, compliance and the leadership of all professional services agreements that govern UCSF’s partnerships with other institutions. Additionally, he is director of International Service at UCSF Medical Center, which provides care to international patients, particularly in the Pacific Rim. He has authored numerous articles and presented lectures on the care of critically ill patients, practice management, industry relations and its impact on innovations in health care, compliance and regulatory affairs. He earned an M.D. from UCSF School of Medicine, an M.P.H. from the University of California, Berkeley, an M.S. from Stanford University Graduate School of Business and a B.A. from the University of Wisconsin. He completed his internship in the Department of Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine and his residency and fellowship in anesthesiology at UCSF.

Nandini Tandon, PhD
Dr. Tandon, a resident of Los Altos, Calif., brings 20 years of experience with a decade as a venture capitalist in Silicon Valley and a decade with deep operational background helping build companies in the biotechnology, diagnostics, medical devices, pharmaceutical and semi-conductor industries across various stages of development, from research to commercialization. Dr. Tandon is presently focusing her investments in healthcare in USA and emerging markets. She has been on the boards of a dozen plus new technology venture-backed companies with acquisitions of her portfolio companies by Pfizer, Gilead Sciences, Amgen, Biogen-IDEC, Cephalon and Millipore. She most recently served as managing director at Lumira Capital, focusing on investments in biopharmaceuticals and medical devices, opening and heading their office in Palo Alto.  Prior to joining Lumira, she was a partner at RBC Capital Partners, founder and president of BayBio Tech Link, chief business officer at Zyomyx Inc., vice president at Hyseq Inc., and various positions of increasing responsibility at Chiron Corporation, Glaxo, Inc. and Micro Electronic Center for North Carolina. She is on the Advisory Council for the Stanford University School of Medicine Career Center and Springboard and serves on the advisory boards of University of California, Berkeley Center for Emerging & Neglected Diseases, C21 BioVentures and TiE Global Board, Trustee. Dr. Tandon holds a patent in semiconductor and received her Ph.D. in biochemistry with Phi Lambda Upsilon from Duke University and her B.A. in chemistry cum laude with Phi Beta Kappa from Hollins University in Roanoke, Va.

Patricia Einarson, MD, MBA
Dr. Einarson (MBA) is a board certified, practicing family physician and founding advisor to an internet start-up serving health care providers and chronically ill patients. Dr. Einarson was first elected to the El Camino Hospital District Board and appointed to Hospital Board in May of 2010. She is the past chair of the Finance and Investment committees and is the current chair of the board’s Quality, Care and Patient Experience Committee. She earned her bachelor’s degree in management science from UC San Diego, a master’s degree in business administration from Stanford Graduate School of Business, and medical degree from Stanford Medical School. She worked in the technology industry for many years prior to attending medical school.

About El Camino Hospital
El Camino Hospital is an acute-care, 443-bed, nonprofit and locally governed organization with campuses in Mountain View and Los Gatos, Calif. In addition to state-of-the-art emergency departments, key medical specialties include heart and vascular, cancer care, urology, orthopedic and spine, genomic medicine, and the only Women’s Hospital in Northern California. The hospital is recognized as a national leader in the use of health information technology and wireless communications, and has been awarded the Gold Seal of Approval from The Joint Commission as a Primary Stroke Center as well as back-to-back ANCC Magnet Recognitions for Nursing Care.